Click here for Sant' Eustachio Abbey

The Benedictine Abbey of Sant’Eustachio is considered to be the oldest Monument of Nervesa.Built during the Romantic Age, the building shows the typical pattern of Benedictine Abbeys: the apse is oriented toward the East, the facade facing the sunset, the cloister at the south side of the Church, where the Convent area was built.Today, only a few remains of the Church are visible: the arches and vaults, the deep presbytery with the outer walls of the apses, some pillars that support the crumpled domes, the high wall of the bell tower, the cloister’s perimeter, outlines of the convent rooms and the southern wall with round arched and rectangular openings.As testified by a Papal Bull issued by Pope Alexander II in 1062, the Benedictine Abbey was founded by Rambaldo III, who at the time was the Count of Treviso and his mother Gisla, which belonged to a noble family that only centuries later will acquire the name of Conti di Collalto and San Salvatore.  The Ruins characterize the hill of Nervesa, a marvelous location immersed in greenery and surrounded by vineyards.